600+ new unit sounds.

Tips and tricks for the designers, playtests.

Moderator: Wonderdoctor

Geoff Brady
Private
Private

600+ new unit sounds.

Post by Geoff Brady » 2022-04-17 17:30, Sunday

Hello. This is my first time on this forum. I have Been playing OG for about five years. During this time I have created over 600 individual unit sound MP3 files. I have put many hours into these new unit sounds and they are of good quality. My main objective was to give all the units of the major countries from1937 - 1945 their own move sound and attack sound. I tried to make as many sounds authentic. So a Pz 38(t) is the sound of a 38(t). A Dewoitine D 520 is an actual Dewoitine D 520, and the infantry have the sounds of their nations weapons. The only major nation I have not worked on yet is the Empire of Japan. Where an actual sound was un-available I tried to use the nearest thing. And the rest I just became creative, using my best guess. I find these sounds spice up the game.

I am not sure whether these sounds would be desired by other OG players. I did it for myself mainly, but if there is an interest I was wondering what would be the best way to make the sounds available for others to enjoy.

Forums are actually new to me.

Geoff Brady

sympatyk
Major
Major

Re: 600+ new unit sounds.

Post by sympatyk » 2022-04-17 18:25, Sunday

Welcome to the forum :howdy

If you want to share these sounds, write on what terms - under what license (is it allowed to use only, can you only use non-commercial, is it possible to create derivative works (mix etc.) And the most important thing is that you are the author and it is your job.
What format are these sounds in?

In my humble opinion -> Each e-file creator will decide if he wants to use them
Every person playing the game can also (if he can) swap and enjoy what he likes ...

There was a topic
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=111

but no one wrote here for a long time ...
You need to describe when giving a number
- what is that sound,