FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Discussing the game, editor (Suite) and the related tools.
Post Reply
User avatar
lvjtn
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
Posts: 555
Joined: 2019-03-09 23:23, Saturday
Location: budapest / hungary
Contact:

FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by lvjtn » 2019-10-06 07:18, Sunday

Q: what is the relation between the .xproto custom proto file and the proto raised by a trigger?

A: by default, the trigger doesn't use the .xproto file, but it can use it: set the parameter of the trigger to 100+x where the 100 means the trigger should use the .xproto and the x means the timeframe in month

********

this thread is opened for the new questions, the content of the old thread will be added to the faq stored on our website, and the most important ones will be added to Luis’ site too
»my real name is csaba (tʃɒbɒ)«
efiles:
Image Image Image Image Image

campaigns:
Image

Image

rphunter
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-10-14 19:20, Monday

FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by rphunter » 2019-10-14 22:22, Monday

Hello from rphunter in NC , USA...
Where do you get test campaign for OG or a PBEM opponent?
I should be short work.

User avatar
lvjtn
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
Posts: 555
Joined: 2019-03-09 23:23, Saturday
Location: budapest / hungary
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by lvjtn » 2019-10-15 06:27, Tuesday

rphunter wrote:
2019-10-14 22:22, Monday
Where do you get test campaign for OG or a PBEM opponent?
i'm not sure what you mean about "test" campaign, so i rephrased your question as a faq:

Q: Is there any tutorial campaign for OpenGen?

A: there is a short tutorial campaign available for openak and lxf efiles. see the campaign database

***

Q: Is there any tutorial PBEM scenario for OpenGen?

A: I don't think there would be any tutorial pbem scenarios, but pzliga efile contains several pbem scenarios, maybe Matze Kessler can help you.


(i'm unsure about the second answer, please let me fix if i'm wrong)
»my real name is csaba (tʃɒbɒ)«
efiles:
Image Image Image Image Image

campaigns:
Image

Image

Major Heinz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 164
Joined: 2019-09-21 16:12, Saturday
Location: Koblenz
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by Major Heinz » 2019-11-01 23:48, Friday

Hello, I have a Question referring to the Victory conditions.

The Situation I want to build is:
The Germans are Controlling nearly the whole map. The Allieds have to capture the enemy VHs. After several turns and a break through from the Allieds the Germans will recieve reinforcements. These reinforcements should win the Scenario, if they are able to recapture a certain VH that now is under allied control. The VH is also in the German controlled area in the beginning. So, if I set the VH as normal VH the Germans will win the Scenario in the first turn :dunno Is there still any way to set this Victory condition with the suite?

User avatar
LuisGuzman
General, Special Forces
General, Special Forces
Posts: 253
Joined: 2019-03-10 08:35, Sunday
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by LuisGuzman » 2019-11-03 13:45, Sunday

The problem with this design is how to make that specific VH which axis must capture "unique" :huh

Because there is something you should remember:
*** if all VH required for Axis are initially controlled by the AXIS, the Axis will win as soon as they capture any hex owned by the Allies.

So... what if that VH you want to be captured by reinforces is owned by the Allies initially and the rest of VH are required only for Allied?
:notsure
Image  Visit my site to get my latest tools.
* Click Open General banner to get more info about the game
Image

Major Heinz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 164
Joined: 2019-09-21 16:12, Saturday
Location: Koblenz
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by Major Heinz » 2019-11-03 22:42, Sunday

Yeah, I had this idea too last night. It is even regardless where I let the Germans counterattack because Operation Lüttich were stopped in Mortain and never reached Avranches. So I could let them attack all VHs that I want. And now they are attacking the starting positions and tries there to cut the Allieds off. :lol

User avatar
mythos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 514
Joined: 2019-09-30 19:37, Monday
Location: near a faerie forest in a misty vale

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by mythos » 2019-11-25 12:41, Monday

Hi :howdy

Close Defense question:

Code: Select all

Attacker uses Close Defense when:
- defender is Infantry and combat is either Close(*1) or Rugged(*2)
- defender is Submarine

Defender uses Close Defense when:
- attacker is Infantry and combat is Close(*1) but not Rugged(*2)
- attacker is Submarine

Note:
(*1) Combat is Close, when [defender's terrain is City, Forest or Mountain, OR defender is Fortification [Class] ] AND attacker is Infantry.

(*2) Combat is Rugged, if attacker is surprised or defender raises a rugged defense.
If i understand correctly: Attacker only uses Close Defense
1) if [Attacker = Infantry] and combat is Close
2) if [Attacker = no matter class] and combat is Rugged
?
Image

User avatar
LuisGuzman
General, Special Forces
General, Special Forces
Posts: 253
Joined: 2019-03-10 08:35, Sunday
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by LuisGuzman » 2019-11-25 13:20, Monday

mythos wrote:
2019-11-25 12:41, Monday
If i understand correctly: Attacker only uses Close Defense
1) if [Attacker = Infantry] and combat is Close
2) if [Attacker = no matter class] and combat is Rugged
?
Attacker uses Close Defense, when defender can fire back as retaliation, if:
  • Infantry is attacking Fort units (* My mistake, it is a bunker being attacked by infantry who uses CD )
  • Infantry is attacking another infantry with rugged defense
  • Infantry is attacking a defender located in close terrain (City, Mountain or forest)
  • Units attacking Submarines when $subcd_naval_only is NOT defined or attaker's target type is naval.
:howdy
Image  Visit my site to get my latest tools.
* Click Open General banner to get more info about the game
Image

User avatar
mythos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 514
Joined: 2019-09-30 19:37, Monday
Location: near a faerie forest in a misty vale

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by mythos » 2019-11-25 13:34, Monday

So, if for example a Tank drives into a hex which is hidden by the Fog of War, but occupied by a hostile unit, then the Tank still uses its Ground Defense ?

Edit:
I was also thinking that Aircraft and Ships, when suprised (or intercepted if air), would use CD instead of AD/GD.

Edit2:
Is Bocage not a close terrain, too ?
Image

User avatar
LuisGuzman
General, Special Forces
General, Special Forces
Posts: 253
Joined: 2019-03-10 08:35, Sunday
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by LuisGuzman » 2019-11-25 15:05, Monday

I've edited my previous post, because I messed things :bonk
mythos wrote:
2019-11-25 13:34, Monday
So, if for example a Tank drives into a hex which is hidden by the Fog of War, but occupied by a hostile unit, then the Tank still uses its Ground Defense ?
Yes a tank surprised uses GD not CD, but defender fires first and gets other bonus due to surprised/rugged
Edit:
I was also thinking that Aircraft and Ships, when suprised (or intercepted if air), would use CD instead of AD/GD.
No , CD is only used by attackers when attacking infantry (or submarines) and combat is rugged or close-combat (close terrain)
But defender gets other bonus and fires first if surprised, or not fire at all if intercepted.
Edit2:
Is Bocage not a close terrain, too ?
No, bocage is not close terrain.

For your questions, OG works the same than PG2.
Image  Visit my site to get my latest tools.
* Click Open General banner to get more info about the game
Image

User avatar
mythos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 514
Joined: 2019-09-30 19:37, Monday
Location: near a faerie forest in a misty vale

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by mythos » 2019-11-25 16:11, Monday

:gracias :bow
Image

User avatar
Duke Falcon
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 53
Joined: 2019-09-23 17:26, Monday
Location: Pegasus galaxy
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by Duke Falcon » 2019-11-27 18:05, Wednesday

A series of silly questions (like I always do, sorry):
- Could OG display flags in size of 21x21? Best would be 24x24 for kamons but it needs a full revamp of resolution files.
- Could we implement more attack animations? Like rain of arrows, gunfire, etc...
- What is the biggest thing OG could display (overlapping not matters)? How big could be a single image (unit's) maximally?

User avatar
lvjtn
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
Posts: 555
Joined: 2019-03-09 23:23, Saturday
Location: budapest / hungary
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by lvjtn » 2019-11-28 08:30, Thursday

Duke Falcon wrote:
2019-11-27 18:05, Wednesday
- Could OG display flags in size of 21x21? Best would be 24x24 for kamons but it needs a full revamp of resolution files.
no, gui files have fixed dimension
- Could we implement more attack animations? Like rain of arrows, gunfire, etc...
the lines of the opengui/explosions.png can be customized,but i don't know which line represents what (air, naval, etc. attack :dunno )
- What is the biggest thing OG could display (overlapping not matters)? How big could be a single image (unit's) maximally?
if you mean unit icons, one view should be smaller than 240x150, so a 9x9 icon can be max. 717x447, i guess
»my real name is csaba (tʃɒbɒ)«
efiles:
Image Image Image Image Image

campaigns:
Image

Image

User avatar
LuisGuzman
General, Special Forces
General, Special Forces
Posts: 253
Joined: 2019-03-10 08:35, Sunday
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by LuisGuzman » 2019-11-28 10:31, Thursday

- Could we implement more attack animations? Like rain of arrows, gunfire, etc...
the lines of the opengui/explosions.png can be customized,but i don't know which line represents what (air, naval, etc. attack :dunno )
Antique has a custom explosions.png that may want to check.
Each row is used for these functions:
  1. SURRENDER
  2. KILL_GND
  3. KILL_AIR
  4. KILL_SEA
  5. BLOW
  6. TARGET_GND
  7. TARGET_AIR
  8. TARGET_WATER
When a unit fires, OG uses fire_gnd.png and fire_air.png
- What is the biggest thing OG could display (overlapping not matters)? How big could be a single image (unit's) maximally?
if you mean unit icons, one view should be smaller than 240x150, so a 9x9 icon can be max. 717x447, i guess
Yes, If using a single image for units, the size must be less than 240 x 150 pixels, thus if you want a bigger size for unit's, must use a png with:
3x3 images 80x50 pixels at least, but there is no upper limit apart the max texture size your video card can create.

:howdy
Image  Visit my site to get my latest tools.
* Click Open General banner to get more info about the game
Image

User avatar
Duke Falcon
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 53
Joined: 2019-09-23 17:26, Monday
Location: Pegasus galaxy
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by Duke Falcon » 2019-11-28 18:40, Thursday

Thanks for the answers!

I meant more explosions.png files as (I checked AG's) ground units always have a single row. I need arrow fire for archers, gunfire for cannons and general for melee troops while still have the separate classes what may mess up a single explosives.png sure.
no, gui files have fixed dimension
Mostly. The hex markers (VH, SH, etc) could be 21x21 even 21x24 and the game do display it. I tested it myself. Only the flags refuse to grow from 21x14 to 21x21 what would be a necessity for my next 2-3 years project. Flags could be drawn in 21x14 size but japanese kamons not. Try it! I tried and the smallest size a kamon remained recognisable were 24x24 what could be cropped to 21x21 f**king the borders but this is the lowest size. I know I had in my PeG Sengoku 21x14 kamons but those were the most simple ones. An Uesugi, Taira or Minamoto kamon could not work that way not to mentione the Matsudaira mon.

Another question: How the stealth\jet special works? Only works for air units or ground units also able to slip through enemy lines unnoticed? Could I use this option for example shinobis\ninjas or spies? Not a big deal for general scenarios but could a real fortune for adventure-based scenarios to sneak through the map to free a hero from a prison (capture a hex what rise a core)...

User avatar
lvjtn
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
Posts: 555
Joined: 2019-03-09 23:23, Saturday
Location: budapest / hungary
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by lvjtn » 2019-11-28 19:03, Thursday

Duke Falcon wrote:
2019-11-28 18:40, Thursday
Mostly. The hex markers (VH, SH, etc) could be 21x21 even 21x24 and the game do display it. I tested it myself.
believe me, gui files have fixed dimensions. the hex_types.png is 168x21 px (so the largest extent of one hex marker is 28x21px), you can't change it. i tested it and enlarged this file up to 168x24px, but only 168x21 is drawn
Duke Falcon wrote:
2019-11-28 18:40, Thursday
Another question: How the stealth\jet special works?
copy from the old faq thread:
Q: What does Stealth mean? What functionalities does it have?

This special represents planes flying at high altitude or stealth planes in (post) cold war period, and usually, the radar-guided missiles or large (>75mm) caliber guns.

"defenders" (AD, Flak, Fighter and, with the OG-mode scenario option, Destroyer/DD, Carrier/CV, Light Cruiser/LC) with Stealth are able to intercept any aircraft.

"attackers" (Fighter, Tac.Bomber, Lvl.Bomber) with Stealth are able to avoid interception of any "defender" - as long as the "defender" doesn't have Stealth too.

Stealth has nothing to do with air attack or air defense actions.
»my real name is csaba (tʃɒbɒ)«
efiles:
Image Image Image Image Image

campaigns:
Image

Image

AnimalMother67
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-03-03 22:22, Tuesday

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by AnimalMother67 » 2020-03-03 22:27, Tuesday

Hi, im new and I apologize if this has been answered somewhere I couldn't find, and also if this is the wrong thread to ask in, but Ive downloaded the PG2 package aswell as the CC one and I was wondering why those aren't showing up in the Campaign Catalog? I can pull them up on the Play Campaign screen when I close out of the catalog, but no matter my resolution the best I can see in the drop down is "C:/User/Documents/OpenGeneral/EFILE" where it cuts off and I have to click them individually to know which is which. How could I get them to appear in the catalog with the default campaigns?

User avatar
lvjtn
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
General, VII. Upper Danubian Corps
Posts: 555
Joined: 2019-03-09 23:23, Saturday
Location: budapest / hungary
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by lvjtn » 2020-03-03 23:03, Tuesday

AnimalMother67 wrote:
2020-03-03 22:27, Tuesday
How could I get them to appear in the catalog with the default campaigns?
the pg2 and cc packages are additional pacckages, not part of the full installer, that's why they aren't added to the campaign catalogue. if you want to search them, you can do it on our site. this online db frontend contains both additional packages and a few more unofficial campaigns
»my real name is csaba (tʃɒbɒ)«
efiles:
Image Image Image Image Image

campaigns:
Image

Image

User avatar
LuisGuzman
General, Special Forces
General, Special Forces
Posts: 253
Joined: 2019-03-10 08:35, Sunday
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by LuisGuzman » 2020-03-04 07:13, Wednesday

:howdy
AnimalMother67 wrote:
2020-03-03 22:27, Tuesday
Hi, im new and I apologize if this has been answered somewhere I couldn't find, and also if this is the wrong thread to ask in, but Ive downloaded the PG2 package aswell as the CC one and I was wondering why those aren't showing up in the Campaign Catalog? I can pull them up on the Play Campaign screen when I close out of the catalog, but no matter my resolution the best I can see in the drop down is "C:/User/Documents/OpenGeneral/EFILE" where it cuts off and I have to click them individually to know which is which. How could I get them to appear in the catalog with the default campaigns?
Just an additional remark ... "C:/User/Documents/OpenGeneral/" is a bad folder to install OpenGen, please create a new folder as "C:\OpenGeneral" and move all files inside C:/User/Documents/OpenGeneral/ to that new folder :2cents
Maybe you didn't read ...
When selecting the installation folder, you should avoid special Windows folders like “Documents”, “Programs Files”, “Users” or similar, as later you won’t be able to add new stuff or even save your savegames. The recommended installation folder is “C:\OpenGen”.
or
You can pick same folder than PG2 (none of the PG2 files are overwritten) or a different folder, but you should avoid Windows "fake-folders" like "Documents", "Programs Files" or similar, as later you won't be able to add new stuff or even save your savegames.
:yes
Image  Visit my site to get my latest tools.
* Click Open General banner to get more info about the game
Image

AnimalMother67
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-03-03 22:22, Tuesday

Re: FAQ and Howto (OpenGen + Suite)

Post by AnimalMother67 » 2020-03-04 21:24, Wednesday

Alright, well hey thank you for the help!

Post Reply